DIY Pink Peek-a-Boo Highlights

Published July 24, 2015 by shepic83

Lately I’ve been obsessed with dying my hair pink. I’ve always done blonde highlights, since I was about 13-years old, but I decided recently that I wanted to switch things up a bit, and jump on this trendy bandwagon of super girly candy-colored highlights. I didn’t want to spend anymore money on my hair than I already do for my regular go-to platinum highlights, so instead, I decided to be brave and try some drugstore box dye to see if I could create something myself at home.

So I ventured out to Target (my own little personal Heaven) and picked up a box of SPLAT, in Pink Fetish.


I then pulled a few random strands of my already bleached hair from underneath, and slathered on this almost obnoxiously-colored fuscia mixture. I let the color develop for about 30-minutes, washed it out until the water ran clear, and I ended up with this initially terrifying result-


…UNTIL I put the rest of my hair down to reveal some perfectly pink-ish peek-a-boo highlights, all in less than an hour, AND for less than $10.


My overall review: I would highly recommend this stuff if you’re feeling brave, of course! At first glance, this intense color can be quite shocking, but gets less bright after only a few washes!

If you’re looking for a less permanent alternative, try:


This product produces similar results, although the color turns out less fuscia and more like an actual hot pink. This color rinses out in just one wash (but lasted even less than that for me).